

HISTORY

Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia and Vicinity

> THEME: "One in the Spirit"

SCRIPTURE REFERENCE: "Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever." (Hebrews 13:8 NIV)





On August 23, 1956, the Late Mrs. Irene Fairfax Terry organized a committee of the Women's Auxiliary to the Northern Virginia Baptist Association, Inc., which gave birth

to the Baptist Ministers' Wives and Widows Association of Northern Virginia and later evolved into the Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia and Vicinity. The purpose of the initial committee was to help the Youth Camp at the Northern Virginia Baptist Center in Gainesville, Virginia. The first Chairperson was the Late Mrs. Anna Costner, and the first Co-Chairperson was the Late Mrs. Eleanor Taylor. Other officers included the following: the Late Mrs. Mary Jackson as Recording Secretary; the Late Mrs. Cora Richardson as Corresponding Secretary; the Late Mrs. Spencer Coleman as Treasurer; the Late Mrs. Carey Barnes as Chaplain; the Late Mrs. Irene Fairfax Terry as Chair of the Sick Committee; the Late Mrs. Edna Thornton as Chair of the Ways and Means Committee; and the Late Mrs. Emma Bush as Chair of the Membership Committee. Some of the other Charter

Members were the Late Mrs. R. D. Botts; the Late Mrs. A. Gilmore; the Late Mrs. Jennie Hall; the Late Mrs. Mabel Morris; the Late Mrs. Sarah Newton; the Late Mrs. Carolyn Mills; the Late Mrs. Mae Hall; and the Late Mrs. Ida Hackett. In 1958, the Late Mrs. Julia Sheppard was elected as the First President of the Baptist Ministers' Wives and Widows Association of Northern Virginia and she served for nine years. Since that time, monthly meetings continue to be held on the Monday after the fourth Sunday of each month, excluding the months of June, July, and August. The first Joint Black History

Service with the Baptist Ministers Conference of Northern Virginia and Vicinity was held in February 1970, during the 1969–1971 tenure of the Late Mrs. Grace Smith. The first Constitution was written in 1969 under the leadership of the Late Mrs. Grace Smith, and In April 1970, a Charter was received for the local Baptist Ministers' Wives and Widows Association of Northern Virginia to join the Virginia Ministers' Wives and Widows Association (VAMWMW), In June 1970, a Charter was received to join the

National Association of Ministers' Wives and Widows (IAMWMW, Inc.).





The first revision of the Constitution was in 1976, during the tenure of Mrs. Lettie Bryant; the second revision was in 1980, during the tenure of Dr. Margaret B. Payton; the third revision was in 1990, during the tenure of Mrs. Evelyn Gaskins; and the fourth revision was in 2004, during the tenure of Mrs. Renelda Brown. It was during the fourth revision of the Constitution in 2004 that the official name of the organization was changed to the Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia and Vicinity, for consistency with the Interdenominational thrust of the Virginia Association of Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows and the International Association of Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows, Inc. Among the numerous indicators of the organization's growth and development, many members of the Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia have served in leadership positions at the state, regional, and international level, including the following: The Late Mrs. Annabelle Howard, Financial Secretary of the National Association of Ministers' Wives and Widows, Inc.; The Late Mrs. Jennie Hall, Dean of Education and Instructor for Parliamentary Procedures at the National Association of Ministers' Wives and Widows, Inc.; The Late Mrs. Pauline Gray, President of the Virginia Association of Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows (1980–1984); Mrs. Theora Austin, Worship Leader Committee Member and Instructor in the Education Department of the IAMWMW; Mrs. Bertha Woods, Past Assistant Recording Secretary of the VAMWMW; Mrs. Renelda Brown, Past Financial Secretary and Assistant Recording Secretary of the VAMWMW; Dr. Gloria Jackson, Dean of Education of the VAMWMW (2004–2008), Executive Board Chair of the VAMWMW, Education Chair or the IAMWMW, Inc., and President of the VAMWMW (2016-2020); Mrs. Matilda Brown, Dean of Education for the VAMWMW (2008–2012); Dr. Janice Winters, Dean of Education for the VAMWMW (2012–2016); and Dr. Margaret B. Payton, Past President of the VAMWMW (1996-2000); Past Vice President of the Northeast Region of the IAMWMW, Past Dean of Education for the IAMWMW, and Current President (2018–Present) of the International Association of Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows, Inc. We are grateful to God for ALL of the members of the Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia and Vicinity, and pause to "HONOR" all of them along with the Organizer, Mrs. Irene Fairfax Terry, the First Elected President Mrs. Julia Sheppard, and the Current Local President, Mrs. Darlene Kelly.







To God Be the Glory for The Great Things He Has Done!!! We have come this far by Faith, Love, and Prayer for sixty-five years, trusting, leaning, and depending on the Lord. We are a sisterhood of Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows, walking in the light of God's love and bound together with cords that cannot be broken. We are blessed to be affiliated with our sisters in the VAMWMW, the Northeast Region, and the IAMWMW, Inc. We gather to encourage and support each other through meaningful spiritual growth and development of each sister in Christ, and then we reach out to others through various service projects. Some of our Ministry of Service Projects include the following: scholarship awards to college bound high school graduates; tutoring and mentoring as volunteers; gifts to children at Christmas and donations of school supplies; food donations to local food distribution centers for feeding children over the weekend and during school holidays; donations of needed items to local shelters and rehabilitation centers; serving hot meals to senior citizens and the needy; feeding homeless men and women; Christmas Cards for wounded vets; Bible Study at Adult Detention Centers; and Teenage Pregnancy Prevention Programs.





Presidents of the Ministers' Wives and Ministers' Widows Fellowship of Northern Virginia und Vicinity

Respectfully Submitted, Dr. Janice L. Winters, Historian MWMW Fellowship of NOVA & Vicinity November 6, 2021

*Mrs. Julia Sheppard (1958-1967) *Mrs. Vondell Payton (1967–1969) *Mrs. Grace Smith (1969-1971) *Mrs. Juanita Booker (1971–1973) *Mrs. Pauline Gray (1973-1975) *Mrs. Lettie Bryant (1975–1977) *Mrs. Mildred Ritter (1977-1979) Dr. Margaret B. Payton (1979-1981) *Mrs. Mamie Brown (1981-1983) Mrs. Theora Austin (1983–1985) *Mrs. Eleanor Taylor (1985-1987) *Mrs. Annabelle Howard (1987-1989) *Mrs. Evelyn Gaskins (1989–1991) Mrs. Matilda Brown (1991-1993) *Mrs. Barbara Roberts (1993-1995) *Mrs. Hazel Browne (1995-1997) Mrs. Bertha Woods (1997–1999) Rev. Dr. Mary Smith (1999-2001) Mrs. Bertha Scott (2001-2003) Mrs. Renelda Brown (2003-2005) Dr. Gloria F. Jackson (2005-2009) Dr. Janice L. Winters (2009-2013) Mrs. Hattie Blackmon (2013–2017) Mrs. Angenette Elder (2017-2019) Mrs. Darlene Kelly (2019-1923)

*Deceased Presidents